By: Nichols

S.R. No. 606

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Constable Clarence Yarbrough of Nacogdoches County Precinct Two on his outstanding career of more than five decades in law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, Clarence Yarbrough first joined the Nacogdoches County Sheriff's Office in 1974, and he has since demonstrated his enduring commitment to protecting and serving the people of Nacogdoches County as a member of law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Yarbrough went on to serve with the Nacogdoches Police Department and was appointed as the department's first public relations officer, and he continued to promote public safety as one of the inaugural officers of the Nacogdoches Independent School District Police Department; and

WHEREAS, In 2016, Clarence Yarbrough won election as Constable of Nacogdoches County Precinct Two, and his strong leadership and unwavering dedication earned him re-election to the position in 2020 and 2024; Constable Yarbrough's career stands among those of the longest-serving and most experienced peace officers in Nacogdoches County history, and he is highly respected and admired by his colleagues and fellow law enforcement officers; and

WHEREAS, Constable Yarbrough's legacy of public service includes both of his sons, who followed in his footsteps to

1

S.R. No. 606

become accomplished law enforcement leaders; Chief of Police Jeffrey Yarbrough has served with the Hutto Police Department for 30 years, and Chief of Police Clarence Dexter Yarbrough has 26 years of law enforcement experience and serves the Manor Independent School District; and

WHEREAS, Clarence Yarbrough has also served faithfully as pastor of Johnson Chapel Baptist Church for more than 40 years, where he has ministered to congregants' spiritual needs with the same dedication and integrity he has demonstrated throughout his public service; and

WHEREAS, Constable Yarbrough's leadership and years of service reflect his commitment to the highest ideals of law enforcement, and it is indeed fitting that he receive special recognition for his many contributions to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, hereby commend Clarence Yarbrough on his exemplary service as Constable of Nacogdoches County Precinct Two; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

2