SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 614

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the 40 University of Texas students who are providing invaluable support to the 89th Texas Legislature as members of the inaugural cohort of the Texas Legislative Fellowship Program; and

WHEREAS, Established by The University of Texas System Board of Regents in 2024, the Texas Legislative Fellowship Program was created to foster civic engagement and public service by providing students from across The University of Texas System with an understanding of the legislative process through full-time internships during the legislative session; and

WHEREAS, In 2025, the fellowship program welcomed its first cohort of students; the fellows have contributed meaningfully to the work of the Texas Legislature and state government, gaining firsthand experience in policymaking, legislative research, constituent services, and the day-to-day operations of state offices; and

WHEREAS, The students of the inaugural cohort who are serving the 89th Legislature include Bianca Vanessa Perez in the office of Senator César J. Blanco; Matthew Allen Moses in the office of Senator Bob Hall; Rujul Kulkarni and Tommy Wan in the office of Senator Nathan Johnson; Ethan Hernandez in the office of Senator José Menéndez; Miguel Koch in the office of Senator Robert Nichols; Isais Almonte in the office of Senator Charles Schwertner; Jeremiah Joseph, Madison Lindsey, and Hasti Patel in the office of Senator Royce West; and Stephany Rae Bauer and Julia Heck in the office of Dean Senator Judith Zaffirini; and

WHEREAS, Additional members of the cohort who are serving the Texas House of Representatives are Maia Oralia Rodriguez in the office of Representative Trent Ashby; Jordyn Dillard and Leslie Puentes in the office of Representative Salman Bhojani; Michelle Elele in the office of Representative Rhetta Andrews Bowers; Param Naik in the office of Representative Angie Chen Button; Madison Alvarez in the office of Representative Trey Martinez Fischer; Dua Sattar Manganhar in the office of Representative Erin Elizabeth Gámez; Aswa Kamal in the office of Representative Josey Garcia; Maddy Terry in the office of Representative Todd Hunter; Matthew Wilson Stafford in the office of Representative Eddie Morales Jr.; Heer Shah in the office of Representative Mihaela Plesa; Tariq Wrensford in the office of Representative Chris Turner; Shawn Maki and Yaseen Tasnif in the office of Representative Erin Zwiener; Jonah C. Espinoza in the office of the House of Representatives Parliamentarian; and Ricky Ramos in the office of the House of Representatives Sergeant-at-Arms; and

WHEREAS, In addition, serving the 89th Legislature are Dylan Lee Miles with the Senate Committee on Education K-16; Brett Khanh Jacobsen and Kayla Trujillo with the Senate Committee on Health and Human Services; Emiliano Valenzuela and Fiona Greer

S.R. No. 614

Valorz with the Higher Education Coordinating Board; Marissa Nicole Equiniones and Sophia Lopez in the office of Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick; and Dane Adams in the office of Governor Greg Abbott; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding fellows represent all nine academic institutions within The University of Texas System as well as UTHealth Houston, and they have demonstrated exceptional dedication, professionalism, and a commitment to public service throughout the 89th Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, The success of this inaugural class reflects the vision and leadership of The University of Texas System Board of Regents and the program's supporters, and it sets a strong foundation for future cohorts of aspiring public servants; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, hereby recognize the members of the inaugural cohort of The University of Texas System Texas Legislative Fellowship Program and commend them on their exemplary service and contributions to the State of Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nichols

Blanco Creighton Hall Johnson Kolkhorst Menéndez Schwertner West Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 28, 2025.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate