By: Hughes S.R. No. 681

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Tyler softball team
- 2 furthered its proud tradition of success by winning the 2025 NCAA
- 3 Division II national championship; and
- WHEREAS, After excelling during the regular season, UT Tyler
- 5 claimed the Lone Star Conference tournament title to secure an
- 6 automatic bid to the NCAA tournament; earning the No. 1 seed in the
- 7 South Central Regional, the Patriots bested Metropolitan State
- 8 University of Denver, Colorado Christian, and Oklahoma Christian
- 9 Universities in the regionals and West Texas A&M University in the
- 10 super regionals to punch their ticket to the College World Series
- 11 for the fourth straight year; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Joining the other regional champions in
- 13 Chattanooga, Tennessee, UT Tyler dispatched Western Washington and
- 14 Saginaw Valley State Universities to earn a place in the
- 15 best-of-three championship series against the University of Tampa;
- 16 the Patriots swept the finals, shutting out their opponent in the
- 17 opener 6-0 and 3-0 in the second and decisive contest; senior
- 18 pitcher Primrose Aholelei dominated on the mound for UT Tyler,
- 19 striking out 17 batters and allowing only two hits across 14 innings
- 20 in two complete-game performances; with the triumph, the Patriots
- 21 clinched the program's second consecutive NCAA Division II title
- 22 and third championship in nine years; and
- WHEREAS, Honored as the Most Outstanding Player,
- 24 Ms. Aholelei joined JT Smith, Ka'Lyn Watson, Abbie Behe, and Taryn

S.R. No. 681

- 1 Barney on the Division II All-Championship Team; the Patriots also
- 2 received valuable contributions throughout the year from the other
- 3 members of the roster: Brylee Adams, Alaunah Almaraz, Cera
- 4 Blanchard, Miia Campos, Gracie Cates, Kaylee Davis, Jordyn De Los
- 5 Santos, Hailey Fannin, Sam Garcia, Megan Geyer, Berlyn Grossman,
- 6 Trinity Hale, Kaylee Harris, Bailey Krolczyk, Angelique Rangel, Sam
- 7 Schott, Julissa Vasquez, and Keona Wells; the team is ably guided by
- 8 head coach Mike Reed, associate head coach Whitney Wyly, and
- 9 assistant coaches Dani Elder, Anthony Springer, and Shannon Klaus;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, By claiming back-to-back national championships,
- 12 the UT Tyler Patriots have burnished their reputation as a softball
- 13 powerhouse, and all those associated with the team may reflect with
- 14 pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the Senate of the 89th Texas Legislature
- 16 hereby congratulate The University of Texas at Tyler softball team
- 17 on winning the 2025 NCAA Division II national championship and
- 18 extend to all those associated with the squad sincere best wishes
- 19 for continued success; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for the Patriots as an expression of high regard by the
- 22 Texas Senate.