By: Hughes

S.R. No. 711

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Carthage High School football team continued its
tradition of excellence by winning the 2024 University
Interscholastic League 4A Division 2 state championship; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating tremendous resolve after dropping the 4 5 first game of the season, the Bulldogs reeled off nine consecutive victories en route to claiming the district crown; the squad then 6 7 carried its momentum into the playoffs, besting Longview Spring Hill, Krum, Texarkana Pleasant Grove, and Van High Schools to reach 8 9 the state semifinals; there, Carthage earned an 11th all-time trip to the state title game with a decisive 45-17 win over Brock High 10 11 School; and

12 WHEREAS, With the championship on the line, Carthage took the field against Waco La Vega High School on December 20 at AT&T 13 14 Stadium in Arlington; taking command early, the Bulldogs built a 14-7 lead at halftime; they continued to excel on both sides of the 15 16 ball down the stretch, posting two more touchdowns and securing the outcome on the strength of their fierce defense, which racked up a 17 total of seven sacks and 15 tackles for loss; triumphing by the 18 final score of 28-14, the Bulldogs collected their 10th state 19 championship in program history, ending their storybook year with 20 21 an outstanding 15-1 record; and

22 WHEREAS, Offensive Most Valuable Player Kelwin Edwards 23 rushed for 188 yards and two touchdowns, and Defensive MVP Daquives 24 Beck contributed 10 tackles and a sack; Carthage also received

1

S.R. No. 711

1 valuable contributions throughout the campaign from the other members of the roster: Klayton Ingram, Blake Marion, Tylin 2 3 Williams, Makkarius Cooper, Jaydon Lewis, Trey Gant, Junior Henderson, Jett Surratt, Cale Preston, Cade Ross, Carson Crawford, 4 5 Colt Lawhorn, Andrew Gwinn, Kason Burchette, William Jacks, Jacob Dixon, Bryston Price, Kaidon Graves, Leo Brown, Jaden Jeffress, 6 Benny Smith, Maure Sheppard, Jakelius Roquemore, Zee Pearley, Ethen 7 8 Portley, Grayson Bullock, JD Edwards, Christian Monreal, Brian Brumit, Zach Dunlap, Jax Thomas, Zay Owens, Lucas McDaniel, Roston 9 10 Reid, Jace Harris, Jesus Lopez, Gabrin Hooker, Colben Foster, Kingston Jones, Braxton Ritter, Andric Kindle, Seth Wedgeworth, Leo 11 12 Medrano, Gael Olvera, Kash Courtney, Latravion Roberts, James Morrow, Jeremiah Earl, Alex Aviles, Braden Dieter, Jaxon Smith, 13 14 Carson Carter, Kooper Knighton, James Koch, Jeremiah Jones, Colt 15 Hodges, Tyler Ortigo, Braylin Allison, Cooper Walters, Abraham Santana, Brandon Allison, Jackson Biggs, Charles Lovil, Caleb 16 17 Smith, Kaden Gordon, Peyton Duran, and Cooper Colle; and

WHEREAS, The team is ably guided by head coach Scott Surratt, 18 19 who has now won 10 state titles at Carthage, a record for Texas high 20 school football coaches; the Bulldogs also enjoyed support from his assistant coaching staff of Paul Bishop, Marcus Bowman, Zeke Dixon, 21 Clinton Endsley, Craig Fant, James Foster, Nicholas Hanson, Reggie 22 23 Hill, Kaden Holcomb, Demond Horsley, Art Horton, Grant Johnson, 24 Michael Johnson, Daniel Johnston, Dalton Longenbaugh, Rob McFall, Ryan Marion, Lee Melton, Austin Morgan, Mike Morgan, Yancarlo 25 26 Palacios, Darren Preston, Damon Roberts, JT Romero, Micah Smith, Matthew Terry, and Charlie Tucker; and 27

2

S.R. No. 711

1 WHEREAS, By once again earning the mantle of state champions, 2 the Carthage High School Bulldogs have burnished the school's 3 reputation as a gridiron powerhouse, and this achievement will be 4 fondly remembered for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the Senate of the 89th Texas Legislature 6 hereby congratulate the Carthage High School football team on 7 winning the 2024 UIL 4A Division 2 state championship and extend to 8 the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued 9 success; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the Bulldogs as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas Senate.

3